Welcome to the NABET 700-M UNIFOR Website!

NABET 700-M UNIFOR represents over 3000 Film, Television and New Media Technicians in the province of Ontario.

100 Lombard Street
Suite 303
Toronto, ON
M5C 1M3
Tel: 416-536-4827
Toll-free: 1-888-428-0362
Fax: 416-536-0859


September 20, 2012

The Final Season: Trailblazing series 'Flashpoint' goes out with a bang

September 7, 2012 - CTV

CTV’s trailblazing series ‘Flashpoint’ goes out with a bang as Team One faces its toughest challenges yet in the fifth and final season.

The drama reaches a fevered pitch in the shocking series finale – one that changes Team One forever and will go down as the most action-packed Canadian television episode in recent memory.

In Season 5, the members of the SRU wrestle with the very reasons they chose their paths as police officers. They question what they’ve always taken for granted – the peace they protect and the justice it is meant to bring.

With production wrapped this summer on 13 action-packed episodes, the fifth and final season will premiere Thursday, Sept. 20 at 10 p.m. ET/PT on CTV.

Returning for Season 5 are viewer favourites Hugh Dillon as Ed Lane, team leader and lead sniper; Enrico Colantoni as Gregory Parker, the team sergeant and head negotiator; Amy Jo Johnson as Julianna “Jules” Callaghan, secondary negotiator and rappelling expert; David Paetkau as Sam Braddock, the young hot-shot sniper on the team; and Sergio Di Zio as Mike “Spike” Scarlatti, explosives and tactical toys expert.

Olunike Adeliyi re-joins the Strategic Response Unit (SRU) as officer Leah Kerns.

Viewers can catch up on full episodes of “Flashpoint” across CTV’s digital platforms following its television broadcast on CTV.ca, the CTV App, the CTV Mobile channel on Bell Mobile TV, and through video on demand partners, such as Bell Fibe TV.

Leading up to the premiere, etalk kicks-off the final season celebration with a special half-hour preview, “etalk presents: Flashpoint,” airing Sunday, Sept. 16 at 5:30 p.m. ET/PT on CTV. Hosted by Ben Mulroney alongside co-host Hugh Dillon, the special provides a sneak peek of the new season and takes a look back at the past four seasons.

Originally developed by CTV, a pilot for “Flashpoint” (then called “Sniper”) was shot in 2007. In January, 2008, CBS joined on as broadcast partner before the series began principal photography in the spring of 2008.

“Flashpoint” premiered on July 11, 2008 on CTV and CBS, with 1.13 million viewers in Canada, and 8.72 million viewers in the U.S. “Flashpoint” was the first Canadian series since “Due South” to air in network primetime in both Canada and the United States, leading the way for several other Canadian series to head south of the border and air on U.S. networks.

Over the next four seasons, “Flashpoint” went on to become a sure-fire hit, with the most recent season averaging 1.51 million viewers both in and out of simulcast. FLASHPOINT has been nominated 80 times for numerous awards, including the Gemini Awards, Directors Guild of Canada Awards, Writers Guild of Canada Awards, ACTRA and PRISM.

The series has won 11 Gemini Awards, including Best Dramatic Series, Best Writing in a Dramatic Series (Mark Ellis and Stephanie Morgenstern), Best Direction in a Dramatic Series (Kelly Makin), Best Performance by an Actor in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role (Enrico Colantoni), and Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Supporting Role in a Dramatic Program or Mini-Series (Sergio Di Zio).

In addition to ION Television in the U.S., "Flashpoint" is also licensed in more than 100 territories worldwide, including RTL2 in Germany, Canal Plus in France and Veronica in the Netherlands.

more News